Mystical Thieves (re-issue)

Digital Download
$ 10.00

Label : Soundmass   Year : 2019

Soundmass are happy to announce their re-issue of the LIGHTFORCE album Mystical Thieves. First released by US label Pure Metal in 1989, 30 years on – all the members of the band having been tracked down – Mystical Thieves is being made readily available again, remastered for a superior metal experience.

Everybody knows Lightforce as the predecessor to Mortification, the Australian death/thrash band fronted by Lightforce bassist Steve Rowe. However, Lightforce was a totally different beast, heavily influenced by the early 80’s metal of bands like Iron Maiden and Judas Priest. Rowe’s driving bass lines emulating Steve Harris, combined with Murray Adams’ adept guitar playing and Errol Willenberg’s technical drumming are a homage to the bands that inspired them, while still putting their own spin on the style. The quality musicianship on display here didn’t go unnoticed either, seeing them gain support slots for the likes of Stryper, Whitecross and Leviticus, but this line-up didn’t see the year out and their follow-up album, though written, was never recorded. A new line-up, a new style, new songs… and Mortification was born!

To top it all off, we have also included 6 bonus live tracks recorded during a show supporting label-mates Whitecross in 1989 (4 of which they intended to record for the next album!)

Mystical Thieves
City Streets
Metal Missionary
Children Of Sorrow
Fast Lane

Bonus Tracks
Live In Sydney, 1989
Back To Basics
Children Of Sorrow
Epidemic Of Injustice
Metal Missionary
God Rulz